The Innovation Board, currently chaired by Paul Harris, is responsible for developing a strategic and coordinated approach to innovation activities, which support and drive forward D2N2’s economic growth ambitions as articulated in the Strategic Economic Plan and Science & Innovation Audit.

The Innovation Board does this by bringing together universities, policymakers, delivery partners and businesses into effective industrial partnerships.

Innovation Board Specification

  • Builds on the evidence of the D2N2 Science and Innovation Audit and further define market strengths and opportunities to inform the Local Industrial Strategy;
  • Encourages greater adoption of digitalisation across the economy through showcasing the opportunities from digitalisation, sharing best practice and encouraging collaboration;
  • Identifies opportunities to raise performance in our core innovation-led sectors as identified in the Science and Innovation Audit: Transport Equipment Manufacturing, Food and Drink and Life Sciences and Energy & Low Carbon Champion knowledge exchange and collaboration with existing areas of expertise to encourage wider adoption; including amongst SMEs and across supply chains;
  • Influences the development and design of future skills for D2N2 businesses to deploy & commercialise their innovation through the Industrial Partnerships to respond to national innovation funding calls, but also demonstrate competencies within D2N2 as the place for world-class innovation;
  • Identifies opportunities to harness our specialist expertise and know-how to address the Grand Challenges in the national Industrial Strategy, specifically about Mobility, Low Carbon and an Ageing Population, through our market priorities and reviewing the D2N2 Enabling competencies as defined within the Strategic Economic Plan;
  • Identifies opportunities to host new pilots, by encouraging collaborative Industrial Partnerships that can champion D2N2’s reputation as a home for innovation, and attract further investment and support job creation.

Innovation Board Membership

  • Paul Harris (Chair) – Phi Advisory Limited
  • Huw Bowen – Chesterfield Borough Council
  • Mike Epton – Centre for Management & Business Development
  • Glenn Needham – NFS
  • Mark McIntyre – Boston Scientific
  • Ian Care Derby – TRIZ
  • John Beardmore – T4 Sustainability
  • Karen Bradford – Gedling Borough Council
  • Julian Bowrey – Innovate UK
  • Michael Carr – Nottingham Trent University
  • Annabel Franks – Annabel Franks Strategy Adviser
  • Chris Gerada – University of Nottingham
  • Richard Hall – Nuclear Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre
  • Bradley-Fortune (Inclusion Rep) – Consultant
  • Nicki Jenkins – Nottingham City Council
  • Warren Manning – University of Derby
  • Nicola McCoy – Brown Nottinghamshire Council Council
  • James Phipps – Nesta
  • Sajeeda Rose – D2N2 LEP
  • Adrian Smith – Nottinghamshire County Council
  • Alan Smith – Derby City Council
  • Ben Sumner – University of Nottingham
  • David Wright – BEIS
  • D2N2 Contact Officer – Frank Horsley (0115 9578 757 ext 2129)

Business Growth Strategy


2020 Innovation Board Meeting Dates

  • 10 February
  • 22 April
  • 8 June
  • 7 October
  • 1 December

2019 Innovation Board Meeting Dates

  • 20 September
  • 9 December

The Innovation Board Documents

Approved Terms of Reference

February 2020 Minutes

December 2019 Minutes


AmberValley broxtowe-logo-4col-30mm_original-copy DCC-logo High-Peak Nottingham-City-Council-1 UoN_Single_Col_Logo_White-Transparent-CMYK
logoADC-1 CBC_CMYK-1 ncc_brandmark_green-rgb-1 Mansfield-1 Rushcliffe-Borough-Council derby_uni_
Bassetlaw Derby-City-Council-1 Erewash-Council-2 newarksherwooddistrictcouncil-copy South-Derbyshire-Council
Bolsover-1 Derbyshire-Dales Gedling NE-Derbyshire NTU-transparent-WHITE