Find out more about our new new strategy on international trade and investment here

The Place Board, currently chaired by David Williams, is designed to facilitate and support the development of approaches to enhance the overall quality of place across D2N2, ensuring that it remains a great place to live, work, and visit.

The Place Board brings together strategies, implementation, and investment proposals for the Place priority within the Strategic Economic Plan, including infrastructure and connectivity, placemaking and marketing, and digital connectivity.

This will build on the work of existing local plans and strategies.

Place Board Specification

  • Informs Infrastructure priorities for a productive economy;
  • Works closely with government departments and agencies to maximise the potential investment benefits for the region (Highways England, Homes England, Network Rail, DIT);
  • Understands our energy constraints and opportunities from the de-commissioning of 3 coal-fired power stations within the area;
  • Ensures we maximise the economic growth potential of HS2 by aligning with the existing work programmes underway;
  • Recognizes the interrelationship between the success of places and addressing the skills and aspiration of the area.
  • Identifies physical and digital connectivity barriers and opportunities;
  • Understands the barriers to bringing forward a pipeline of sites and premises for commercial development;
  • Maximises the opportunities from our international connectivity through EMA;
  • Devises compelling place marketing for Visitors and Investors;
  • Ensures D2N2 LEP aligns our connectivity priorities with emerging Midlands Connect priorities;
  • Accelerates housing development as a key enabler for place-shaping;
  • Unlocks the potential of jobs growth and investment from our Enterprise Zones;
  • Maximises the opportunities of the Visitor Economy to support wider place-making;

Place Board Membership

  • David Williams (Chair) – Geldards
  • Adrian Smith – Nottinghamshire County Council
  • Greg Jennings – Derby City Council
  • Chris Henning – Nottingham City Council
  • Joe Battye – Derbyshire County Council
  • Dan Swaine – North-East Derbyshire District Council
  • Mike Ashworth – Derbyshire County Council
  • Dominic Stevens – Invest in Chesterfield
  • Jo Dilley – Marketing Peak District
  • John Forkin – Marketing Derby
  • David Wright – BEIS
  • Stephen Jackson – Marketing NG
  • Hayley Barsby – Mansfield District Council
  • Simon Statham – Midlands Councils
  • Ruth Hyde – Broxtowe Borough Council
  • Graham Cartledge – Handley House
  • Robert Dixon – Marketing NG
  • Jonathan Wildgoose – Wildgoose Construction
  • Chris Hayton – East Midlands Airport
  • Greg Broughton – Environment Agency
  • Helen Greig – National Housing Federation
  • Adam Jackson – Network Rail
  • Kam Khokar – Highways England
  • Matthew Montague – Matthew Montague Architects
  • Frank McCardle – South Derbyshire District Council
  • Adam Lathbury – Derbyshire County Council
  • Adam Pritchard – Midlands Councils
  • Simon Statham – Midlands Connect
  • Karl Tupling – Homes England
  • Nigel Wright – Nottingham Trent University
  • Linny Beaumont (Inclusion Rep) – Canal & Rivers Trust
  • D2N2 Contact Officer – Tom Goshawk (0115 957 8757)

Place Strategy


2021 Place Board Meeting Dates

  • 9 February
  • 9 June
  • 6 October

2020 Place Board Meeting Dates

  • 25 February
  • 28 April
  • 1 July
  • 24 August
  • 15 October
  • 9 December

Place Board Documents

Terms of Reference

June 2021 Minutes (DRAFT)

February 2021 Minutes

December 2020 Minutes

October 2020 Minutes

August 2020 Minutes

July 2020 Minutes

April 2020 Minutes

February 2020 Minutes

October 2019 Minutes

July 2019 Minutes

May 2019 Minutes


AmberValley broxtowe-logo-4col-30mm_original-copy DCC-logo High-Peak Nottingham-City-Council-1 UoN_Single_Col_Logo_White-Transparent-CMYK
logoADC-1 CBC_CMYK-1 ncc_brandmark_green-rgb-1 Mansfield-1 Rushcliffe-Borough-Council derby_uni_
Bassetlaw Derby-City-Council-1 Erewash-Council-2 newarksherwooddistrictcouncil-copy South-Derbyshire-Council download
Bolsover-1 Derbyshire-Dales Gedling NE-Derbyshire NTU-transparent-WHITE